In many countries, a small number of people earn extremely high salaries. Some people belive that this is good for the country, but others think that governments should not allow salaries above a certain level. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The perspectives on whether governments have to set an upper bound on salaries vary widely. Some people consider it a good policy, while others hold an opposite attitude. In this essay, I will explore both viewpoints and explain why I strongly disagree with this policy. On the one hand, intervening in workers' income is detrimental to the efficiency of job markets. In my opinion, highly professional employers should and must receive higher payments, as they can hardly be replaced by others. If the authorities implement related regulations, citizens would no longer be willing to improve their professional techniques or even opt not to make efforts to their work. Additionally, the proportion of less productive employers is going to become more prevalent in the long run, which causes negative effects on the economy of the whole society. On the other hand, earning salaries based on one's ability is relatively reasonable. Some opponents might argue that this benefits a only minority of wealthy people, but they indeed deserve such decent income in my opinion. First of all, those small numbers of elites make significant contributions to a company, compared to normal staff. Secondly, higher salaries provide incentives to workers to work harder and maintain competitive voluntarily. Last but not least, corporations tend to compete with each other and offer better conditions than counterparts to attract the most ideal candidates. In conclusion, I believe that governments should not take action to limit salaries. Instead, leaving job markets run their course can naturally foster an efficient environment.