These days, more and more people are going to other countries for significant periods of time, either to find a job or to study. Do the advantages of living in a foreign country outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, a significant number of people travel to overseas countries for extended periods to pursue personal or career advancement. Despite going to a foreign country providing a good job or study opportunity, I would argue that this has far more drawbacks because that means individuals will spend their lives far away from their families, as well as cause some problems in that country ’s economy. On the one hand, many advanced countries provide good chances either for a job or study. International universities have a cutting-edge research program and a strong academic background which assists students to have great opportunities to work for global companies. For instance, Oxford University graduates are more likely to work for international organizations such as Aramco which provides professional development and good facilities for their employees. However, living in a foreign country for a long period has more disadvantages either personally or domestic economy. On the other hand, this phenomenon might have a profound negative impact on people’s personal lives. Living a long time far away from family might influence people’s lives such as feeling lonely and always suffering from nostalgia which makes life difficult for many. Additionally, because of a huge number of people living or going to foreign countries for extended periods that negatively affects economic development due to manpower shortage in the country. For example, if significant numbers of citizens go abroad to work or study for long periods that puts a huge strain on the government due to manpower shortages and they must recruit foreign workers. From my perspective, the drawbacks of living in a foreign country for significant periods outweigh the benefits. In conclusion, although some foreign countries provide personal or professional advancement, I believe that this has a negative impact on both an individual’s psychology and the country ’s economy. For these reasons, the disadvantages outnumber the advantages.