Tourism is becoming increasly important as a source of revenue in many countries. Do the advantages of tourism outweight the disadvantages ?

An increase of tourists who vacation abroad has significantly risen due to affordability and accessibility of travelling. Compared with a decade ago when only certain people could enjoy this privilege. While this possesses some drawbacks to the environment, there are more benefits such as economic growth and international exposure. Looking first at the negative impact of tourism, the most affected is the environment. One of the reasons is over tourism in popular destinations, which can lead to the destruction of natural places, such as forests and oceans. For example, many trees are cut down to build many hotels to accommodate the increase of travellers. This results in more natural disasters, including floods and erosion. Furthermore, a lot of garbage is not managed well, thus, it ends up in the ocean killing many sea creatures and their habitat. Despite the issues above, there are more advantages to tourism. One of them is the improvement of a country's GDP from the transaction activities; for instance shopping, renting accommodation, and enjoying attractions to name a few. Not only that, the locals can generate income by opening businesses to cater to the travellers’ needs. For example, there are many job opportunities for the Balinese from tourism, ranging from being a tour guide to selling souvenirs. Another positive outcome from tourism is the transfer of knowledge that can improve many aspects of the local citizens' lives. The first is language learning by everyday interactions with the foreign visitors and the other is knowledge about other cultures, which may broaden people’s perspectives. In conclusion, the development of tourism can bring a lot of positivity for the country and its citizens. However, although there are not many drawbacks, the government should still make policies to minimise the impact, especially on the environment.