The use of social media, such as Facebook and Twitter, is replacing face-to-face contact in this century. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The use of social media, such as Facebook and Twitter, is replacing face-to-face contact in this century. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages? In this modern world, social media has become far more prevalent and substituted traditional communication methods. In this essay, I will explore both the benefits and drawbacks of this phenomenon and explain why I consider it not a good trend. On the one hand, contacting each other online is more efficient, compared to talking with people face-to-face. First of all, individuals no longer have to spend time commuting to the appointed place for chatting; instead, they are allowed to do so wherever they want. Secondly, social media plays a vital role in expanding one's network, as it recommends strangers with common friends to users. Therefore, it prevents introverted people from feeling lonely and helps them practice socializing skills, both of which are difficult to exercise if contacted face-to-face. On the other hand, social media invades users ' privacy to some extent. It is widely known that apps record all the messages and pictures that users sent before. As a result, users are not suggested to upload confidential documents or personal details on the platforms, which is not a threat if people opt to talk in reality. In addition, corporations take advantage of collected information, and continue promoting advertisements with well-designed algorithms to users. It is acceptable for some users because they understand that companies take this action for profitability; however, such promotion is too aggressive in my opinion. In conclusion, despite the fact that social media brings some positive effects on our daily lives, I still believe that the disadvantages outweigh the good side for privacy reasons.