Today, food travels thousands of miles from farms before it reaches consumers in urban areas. Why is this the case? Is this a positive or negative trend?

It is an undeniable fact that the time expense for food delivery turns out to be longer than in previous times. The main reason for it might be that mass production and technological advancements. I would argue that it is a good trend for companies to save money and maximise profits, however, I doubt that fewer fresh groceries would reach us. There is a plethora reasons why the transportation time for farmed goods has increased compared to the past. To begin with, technological advancement in preservation techniques have enabled food to be shipped over long distances efficiently and safely. These iinovations ensure that food remains fresh during transportation, which encourages long-distance food trade. Secondly, mass production can reduce cost and increase profit for companies. For example, massive international trade for Indonesian product to other countries, such as Malaysia for fruits. From the point of view of businessman, it is a very good strategy to create preservation foods for customers. However, as a customer, I have different way of thinking. I believe that preserved farmed products are not fresh and healthy since it contains a lot of chemical products. In addition to that, increased complexity of food delivery to faraway destination could result in inflation of groceries. In conclusion, if food travels from long-distance, it might not be very healthy for purchasers.