Some people think that public transportation should be free for all users do you agree or disagree with this opinion

In a country like India, accessible modes of transportation play a vital role in society. Since our nation is still a developing nation, it implies that the majority of the population can't afford luxurious modes of transportation like a private car and have to resort to affordable options of public transport. Not only is it always about affordability, but it is sometimes about a faster route and way of transportation. For example, in a city like Mumbai, people can, at large, afford private car or taxi services, despite that they still choose to travel by the local train as they are cheaper compared to private cars or taxis, and it is definitely way faster. They are unaffected by the weather and offer no risk of being stuck in traffic. Similar is the case of Delhi, where the Delhi Metro is a popular mode of transport. These are a few examples of prominent modes of public transportation. The question that arises in the same context is that should it be free for all users or not? In my opinion, it should be chargeable for all. Every such mode of transportation requires maintenance, and the users should pay for the same. Apart from the maintenance, with due course of time, there is advancement or upgradation of technology. Every such set up requires a source of funding; hence the users paying for it is just a small contribution to the same. Additionally, the charges paid also contribute to the salary of the people employed in the same field. To conclude, I would like to say that public transportation should not be free for all, although the charges can vary depending upon the social and economical factors.