In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Urbanization has happened in many parts of the world, impacting the number of the population in rural areas. In my opinion, I contend that this phenomenon will lead to negative points because people will be disadvantaged by living in a city and the countryside will be endangered. The population in the city will be denser since more individuals opt to live there, which causes more problems. The environment will be harmed because green spaces will be replaced by housing areas, as the demand for housing areas will be increasing. Thus, less fresh air will be available, which can eventually result in air pollution. For instance, in China, many parks are demolished and used for constructing high-tall buildings, such as apartments. Consequently, the environment has become unhealthy due to fewer trees and clean areas, which can negatively affect people’s wellness since they will hardly inhale healthy air. Furthermore, individuals who still reside in the countryside will struggle to survive, as their villages will stop thriving, resulting in abandonment. This is because there will be fewer job opportunities, which makes more people strive to fulfill their basic needs, and then they will decide to abandon their villages and move to urban areas for a jobs. One village in Indonesia, for example, once a flourishing area, has gradually lost its existence as a result of a substantial decrease in the number of inhabitants and become poorly maintained, while it truly has potential and can be utilized for agriculture, however, people have relocated and tried to pursue other opportunities in the city. To conclude, I believe that leaving the countryside will certainly lead to downsides for both rural and urban areas since it will significantly damage the ecological aspects of the city, such as air pollution, and make more villages become neglected and forgotten.