In many places of the world, more larger supermarkets are built while smaller local shops are closing down. Are there more advantages or disadvantages to local people?

In different cities around the world, massive supermarkets are built while small local shops are facing extinction. There are some advantages of supermarkets like affordable groceries cost, creating new job opportunities and convenient shopping, But it also comes with disadvantages like the local shop extinction, increase in plastic usage and traffic congestion. In this essay, I will discuss both perspective. On the positive side, by eliminating middle broker's or distributors, price of the goods and products are greatly reduced. Moreover, the quality and authenticity of product are checked before selling. For example, buying groceries in supermarkets can reduce 5 to 10 percentage in actual Minimum retail price compared to no discount in local shops. Another benefit is, it can create job opportunities to local people living in that area. On the negative side, increase in supermarkets can significantly reduce the local shops which may even lead to extinction. Nowadays, most people are convenient in buying big shops rather than small shops due to the availability and cheap products. This in turn slowly eradicates local retail shops. In addition, Supermarkets are using more plastics, which also cause environmental pollution. For instance, Recent study shows that nearly 70℅ of the local shops are closed after the arrival of foreign owned supermarkets. In conclusion, even though there some disadvantages of supermarkets, with proper regulations it can greatly benefit local people. Increasing local job opportunities, convenient shopping and price reduction in products are some of the great advantages.