Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensave the survival of local languages and if so, how?

Studying English at school is sometimes considered more valuable than studying native languages. There is a possibility these languages will disappear if not taught. Meanwhile, I think the English language still needs to be learned by everyone because it is used in some countries in the world. However, we should also preserve the local languages by separating the classrooms based on the study plan of the students. Firstly, English language is an international language which is used mostly in Europe and North America. Hence, if the students are willing to continue their education in those nations, they will need to learn English as it is the entry requirement for joining their universities. For example, Harvard University has a minimum English score on the IELTS platform of 7.0. This score is very hard to get because the maximum score for IELTS is 9.0, which is only 2-point difference. Secondly, native languages should also be saved from extinction. Since the school can not completely force the students to use the native languages, thus, they can instead take a test with a score. For instance, BPK Penabur, a school in my city, determined Wednesday and Friday as the native language days. The students have to speak their own local language and it will influence their total final score. In conclusion, these both languages are very important for students. While English is essential for studying abroad, especially in Europe and America, the local languages are a culture that needs to be saved. I suggest more schools will be aware of this problem and consider how to treat both subjects wisely in school.