In many countries people are now living longer than ever before. Some say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

The last 50 years have seen a dramatic increase in the longevity of humans in various parts of the world.Yet there remains some disagreement as to whether this is a positive or a negative trend. While there are valid arguments to the contrary, in this essay i would contend that the advantages of ageing population are incomparable with its drawbacks. first of all, having an aged community means that there are a lot of people with experience in a variety of fields. These people have been working in different sectors for years and have faced various circumstances. Governments and private companies can utilize this knowledge to gain more benefits to their industries. For example, countries such as Japan hire more and more retired individuals as their consultants in a variety of industries. Their previous experiences and knowledge can be advantageous in solving different problems. Moreover, it is important to note that youngsters today spend most of their time on screens. This is due to the lack of parental attention.Having an extended family could tighten family bonds and relationships. For instance, grandparents are great influencers, who can narrate their life stories, and the hardships they faced to their grandchildren. This will be a positive trend to spend more time with their families and pass the cultural values, norms and traditions to the next generation. To conclude, I believe that having an ageing population is beneficial to society as they are helpful in many ways.