A growing number of people rely or restaurants and convenience food (Frozen food and packaged meals) rather than home-cooked food to supply most of their meals. What are the advantages and disadvantages of eating this way?

Food is one of the most basic needs for humans to live a better life. Despite that, recently, many individuals have been eating from restaurants or packed food instead of preparing food at home. There are several merits such as it saves a lot of time spent on meal preps along with the demerits like it is an inadequate source of essential minerals, vitamins, and proteins. Both advantages and disadvantages are further explained in the letter. Several benefits can be put forth in favour of eating readily available meals. The primary reason is that it saves a lot of food preparation time as these foods are ready to eat. Because these meals are pre-cooked and have a longer shelf life, they can be enjoyed any time anywhere. For example, if a person takes a food from a restaurant in the morning then it can also be eaten in the afternoon as a lunch and at night as a dinner which saves a decent amount of time for preparing and planning of the meal and cleaning utensils. However, the negative effects of this newly emerged trend should not be overlooked. The predominant reason is that the food served in restaurants or in the packaging is often not a sufficient source of vital body elements such as protein and nutrients as well as contains a lot of preservatives to longer the shelf life. This creates life-threatening diseases such as cancer and sometimes less serious but hard-to-control health issues like obesity, and diabetes. The recent study published by the University of Toronto is the perfect example of this, it mentioned that more than 80% of people who consumes outside food are more prone to getting serious health-related issues from a very young age, especially those under 30 years. To conclude, although packed meals or restaurants do save a lot of time in food prep, it's not a healthy option as they do not provide the balanced food that the body requires to function properly. So, individuals should make their own food according to their preferences at home.