Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to cooperate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While some would argue that youngsters nurtured with competitive teaching should be encouraged in order to survive adulthood in the future, I think that cooperation should rather be emphasised as it leads to the development of vital soft skill, namely resilience. As the matter of fact that competition is inevitable in our society, teaching children to compete one another allow them to prepare for being a grown-ups. It is true that we are all fighting against each other throughout our life and by immerse this life lesson for them at a young age can help them survive in their community when older. Take China, for example; they are grow up with fiercely academic competition since primary school in order to defeating other graduates for limited job offers. However, I believe that raising them in a competitive surroundings does not always guarantee that they will be successful adults or not. On the other hand, it is thought that children being taught to be cooperative will benefit them later as this is the key skills in life. To simply explain, we are all good at something while others are not and so do we. It is understandable that why people who is cooperative often preferable by many people in the society as they likely to help other rather than focusing on the benefit of themselve. For instance, many children in Thailand are thought to be cooperative through parenting that we should help and support each other. I believe this school of thought is preferable because it create resilient adults and peaceful community in the future. In conclusion, although competition is unavoidable for children and teaching this might be a preparation for them, this does not certified the success of being adult, because they do not have resilience which is more crucial for them in the society.