Some people think that schools are merely turning children into good citizens and workers, rather than benefiting them as individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the main purpose of schools is nurturing obedient and good workers for a country, rather than helping them to thrive as individuals. I firmly agree with that statement, as the school system instils social values and teaches discipline, which is vital for good citizens of the nation. To begin with, with rigorous rules, school accustoms adolescents to social norms and showcases what is good and bad. Through strict schedules and uniform policies, for instance, they prepare young students for future work. Schools embrace values such as obedience, which are important to become effective employees. As a result, they bring citizens that are totally ready to contribute to their country. Such practice can be seen in China, where discipline is thoroughly taught in the schools, and, therefore, workers there are considered the most diligent ones on the planet, who can work more than 50 hours a week. Moreover, educational establishments instil societal values. In other words, they teach appropriate behaviour that is considered conventional. Therefore, schools prevent possible criminals and eliminate any chances of the occurrence of crimes. Numerous social interactions on a daily basis compel them to fit into the local community. Such practices are essential for a good citizen, as they create a safe environment for the government and society. To illustrate, there is a high rate of crime in Brazil, which probably stems from the low-quality education of the population. In conclusion, schools are significant for developing a secure society, filled with good citizens, and this is achieved by teaching proper values such as discipline.