Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary schools. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Starting to learn a new language at a young age in primary school has more potential than beginning to learn at secondary school. Although this can be beneficial for children, they may face some difficulties. On the one hand, there are plenty of reasons that make the early language learning process advantageous. It will be more easy and effective during people’s childhood periods and it will help to develop cognitive skills such as multitasking and others. The reason is, that children ’s brain systems are adapted to learn unknown languages without hard effort. Therefore, they will develop their language knowledge more quickly than older generations. In addition, as they are growing up speaking two or more languages, they simultaneously will develop their multitasking abilities and critical thinking. For example, bilingual children can meet international friends and read or watch foreign books and movies which can be the main reason for their development. On the other hand, there are some drawbacks. The main ones are language mixing and a low vocabulary bank. For instance, children may mix two languages while communicating with others which will lead to misunderstandings.Because their partners may not understand their speech. If they do not repeat and use some words in one language and continue mixing words, their vocabulary base can be reduced and as a result, children can forget some essential words and phrases. In conclusion, also begin learning foreign languages at primary school has some disadvantages like word mixing, but there are several advantages such as breeding new skills. Despite some difficulties, the benefits of this process can outweigh the drawbacks because they can encourage the main knowledge that people need in their lives.