School children are becoming far too dependent on computers. This is having an alarming effect on reading and writing skills. Teachers need to avoid using computers in the classroom at all costs and go back to teaching basic study skills. Do you agree or disagree?

The past 50 years have seen a dramatic increase in dependency on technology by pupils, affecting their reading and writing skills. Despite the endless convenience computers have brought to the educational systems, I strongly believe that incorporating modern technology in the educational systems of schools should be abandoned because the disadvantages outweigh the merits. The reasons for this are as follows. First of all, it is an irrefutable fact that utilizing computers in the process of teaching school students has made them completely inactive. Using PowerPoints or videos by tutors in order to teach scientific issues makes children see no need to make notes, converting them to mere listeners and spoiling their writing abilities. Furthermore, it has been scientifically proved that reading a book through a screen such as a tablet or mobile prevents readers from comprehending the main points, which also diminishes reading ability. As a result, I believe that utilizing technology for children could be even disastrous in the long term. Secondly and even more importantly, though, is the fact that modern ways of teaching could nurture lazy individuals in society. Schools are the crucial places for learning skills and qualifications which are necessary in the process of learning; however, too much reliance on computers has made students reluctant to cooperate in practical issues, leading to an exponential decline in their grades and efficiency, consequently. So, if governments wish to be consistent in nurturing a knowledgeable generation, they should return to traditional methods, which have proved to be the most successful ones. By way of conclusion, I once again reaffirm my position that It seems that despite the undeniable benefits technology has brought in modern life, it has been disadvantageous for school children with their education.