Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

Plastic packaging and items like bags, and bottles are harmful to the environment. It is a man-made, and non-biodegradable product which damages the eco-system. Henceforth, to solve this issue government can create awareness and policies where individuals can avoid wastage. Plastics are either dumped into the water or in landfills. Since, it cannot be decomposed by the natural process, it stays in the environment for millions of years, creating water and soil pollution. Plastics are responsible for the deaths of animals, causing disruption in the food chain because they mistakenly eat it as their food. For example, in a survey by Indian Environmentalists over 30% of cows die because of the polyethene bags as it causes choking of windpipes. This issue is a serious threat to our environment hence the authorities should take major steps by creating strict polices such as banning plastics and imposing hefty fines on people and companies using them. Moreover, the government can create awareness programs among the people by campaigning about the harmful effects of plastics on the animals and the environment. Additionally, as an individual, we should opt to recycle, and reuse. This habit can avoid the wastage. For example, when people go shopping, they can use either jute or cloth bags, this habit would reduce the usage of polythene bags. In conclusion, Plastics are bad for the earth as their molecules do not decompose into thesurroundings. So, government officials should impose strict rules and people should reuse and recycle the items.