Some people think that students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think students should spend on important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The perspectives on what students have to learn knowledge about food vary widely. Some people believe that it is worthwhile to spend time acquiring the science and the preparation methods of food, while some argue that investing in other crucial subjects is better. In this essay, I will explore both viewpoints and explain why I strongly agree with the latter argument. On the one hand, knowing how to prepare meals on their own saves students ' food expenses. It is clear that dining out at a restaurant typically costs much more than purchasing groceries. In addition, food from restaurants often fails to contain balanced nutrition. Take McDonald's for instance, lacking vitamins and minerals while excessive use of oil can be observed in all the meals, which causes youngsters to suffer from chronic diseases such as obesity, diabetes, and hypertension. However, individuals can be injured by knives or other utensils in the kitchen when cooking themselves, or even leading to fatal accidents like fire disasters. On the other hand, since the majority of students will not pursue a career as a chef, the precious time spent on learning about food can be replaced with subjects related to one’s dream job in the future. This transformation enhances the competitiveness of a country, as students are expected to be more productive if focusing only on topics that they are indeed passionate about. In conclusion, although studying food science allows students to save money and to consume balanced diets, it comes with some potential dangers. In contrast, spending time on other subjects benefits the whole society as people can be well-prepared before entering the workplace.