22. Many student choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Many kids would rather take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. I think this is a good idea but also has its own disadvantages. The reasons and examples will be discussed below. First, One of the most useful advantages of taking a gap year before studying in universities is that scholars get a chance to know and find what really suits them when they are on vacation. For example, a New York Times Poll revealed that 30 per cent of pre-medical students at Harvard University enrolled on this course because they experienced volunteering in a foreign country after they graduated from high school. Additionally, pupils not only have more free moments to relax and prepare for the next semester but also are available to do a part-time job to collect money for an educational institution fee. On the other hand, this action can lead learners to distract from what they really need to focus on at their ages and make them waste more time on studying eventually. To exemplify, BBC News stated that 50 per cent of working adults who don't have a bachelor's degree admitted that taking too long gap years after college affects them to withdraw majors and concentrate on making a living in their life instead of taking a class. Furthermore, a scarce employment problem is increasing nowadays. Many graduated pupils have to compete among themselves to get a job. Those delaying the class might lose some good opportunities during school. To conclude, Many ones choose to postpone their college life to travel or gain work experience which has both pros and cons. The advantages are those youngsters can find their own future careers and have more free days to do a lot of matters that are necessary for the next coursework. The disadvantages are wasting their life on other things instead of studying and getting fewer chances to apply for a job at the proper moment.