Deforestation is considered one of the major environmental problems. What are the causes and effects of deforestation?

One of the worrying trends in modern society is that many of the world’s great forests are threatened by deforestation. This occurs for several reasons; trees are massively used as raw materials and cleared land is used for agricultural activities. The main detrimental effects of this are climate change and damage to animal habitats. The main causes of deforestation are industrial logging by big companies and commercial farming by local people. For companies, they capitalize on natural resources to make a profit, as trees can be used in construction, furniture and even fuel to make a profit. For instance, industrial logging is still being carried out in China to make traditional tales and chairs. For local people, they need to clear up an area just enough to graze cattle and grow plants. A typical example can be found in Gansu, where trees are cut down for planting vines. One serious effect of deforestation is climate change. Normally, tropical rainforests help control the earth’s temperature by absorbing carbon dioxide. Nevertheless, in areas where forest destruction has taken place, increasing carbon dioxide goes into the atmosphere and traps more heat in a process called the greenhouse effect. This results in global warming and extreme weather events such as heat waves and storms. Apart from climate change, deforestation also has an advert effect on biodiversity. Deforestation causes the loss of habitats and damage to land where animals and plants live, leading to the extinction of some species. A case in point is that the golden toad was a native to the cloud forests of Costa Rica, which went extinct in the late 1980s primarily due to habitat loss from deforestation. In conclusion, commercial logging and farming have taken a heavy toll on forests, and it in turn gives rise to global warming and reduction of biodiversity. Looking to the future, governments and individuals should make great efforts to protect forests. Otherwise, on such a large scale is surely a recipe for disaster.