In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, due to advances in medical facilities and greater social awareness of health care, people’s life expectancy is longer than the previous decade. some experts think that this ageing population has lots of disadvantages for governments. However, others argue that there are far more benefits. I think the pros of this situation outweigh its cons and in this essay, I will propose some reasons to this assumption. Generally, this ageing group are considered to be a precious experienced populatin which can help the new employees in several aspects. They can provide the new comers with a significant amount of information and help them to overcome upcoming difficulties. Moreover, they can teach these workers how to use the factory’s instruments properly. Another point is that these elderly people have saved a large amount of money during their working years and after their retirement, they are ready to spend them on their favorite entertainments. For instance, if they go on a vacation in their own country, it will advantage the thourism industry. Having said that, some experts consider this situation as a big drawback. They argue that they cause extra expenses for the government, while they are no longer beneficial for the society. For example, the government should spend more on public transportations and build more health care centres. They believe that this situation is a huge waste of taxpayers’ money. In Conclusion, the increasing number of elderly population may bring some advantages and disadvantages to a country. It might have the pros of guiding new workers and bringing money to industries, or the con of wasting country’s budget. In my opinion, we should be respectful to this group and if experts plan corectly, there will be more benefits.