Nowadays, more people are choosing to socialize online rather than face to face. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is true that in a modern world, the number of citizens choosing to socialise via online platforms rather than face-to-face interactions is increasing considerably. Although this phenomenon have some positive effects, overall its drawbacks are more significant. The main benefit of social networks is that they allow individuals who do not have friends in their real lives meet them virtually. It can be done in one click without any necessity for going out. As a result, people making new acquaintances on the internet lose the feeling of loneliness which, in turn, increases their well-being. To illustrate, recent research published in the Times broadsheet has reported that approximately 40% of youth turn to online platforms avoiding meeting their peers in person and, at the same time, getting kick out of it. Hence, chatting online is part and parcel in social lives of the significant segment of population. Despite the positive side of social networks and messengers, I consider that they are a negative development for several reasons. First of all, the multiple pictures of perfections presented by people in social platforms such as Instagram or Facebook, might be unreal. Also, the absence of any checks associated with the personal information published in people's accounts might result in chatting with cheats. In addition, those who got used to liaising with their friends online, might not have enough courage to meet them in the real lives. Quite frequently, they cannot make an important step to invite someone out, even if this person is extremely attractive to them. They just do not know how to behave in reality. As a result, such relationships might end without being started. For instance, one of my acquaintances who is an active user of social networks, cannot find his love throughout years because he is afraid to approach the opposite gender in real life, which would not be an issue, if people do not use online platforms so commonly. In conclusion, while I recognise possible advantage of socialising online, I am convinced that we lose more than we gain from this development.