Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that there are constant traffic jams in many cities around the world. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from owning cars? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today's era of modern world,everything is materialistic and as a result of this people are buying more things. Thus, car ownership has elevated at a higher speed in the last thirty years. However,it is not the only reason for traffic congestion in many urban areas around the globe.The following paragraphs will elucidate the different reasons responsible for the traffic jams and will shed light on the measures that the government can implement effectively to demotivate folks from purchasing cars in the future. To begin with, there are numerous factors which are responsible for traffic congestion in addition to car ownership.The unavailability of good infrastructure like roads,underpasses and traffic signals seems to encourage the traffic. For instance, as per the latest survey conducted on the road signals in Pune city of India,it was found that 30% of traffic lights were not working which resulted in confusion among the people and they started to follow their own traffic rules creating jams in the various area during the peak hours. Furthermore,the lack of public transport also encourages people to drive their own cars to their workplaces. To remedy this situation, public organisations can implement various solutions which will discourage people from buying their own cars.The availability of public transport covering maximum areas of metropolitan cities in less time than that of the cars.To illustrate,in Delhi,the capital of India, Metro services have started and travel time to the workplace is less than that of cars and buses. Moreover,the government has established free fare rules for females in Metro to encourage travel by train. To sum up,in my view, the given statement is partially true as there are different reasons which have resulted in traffic congestion in the urban areas. Nonetheless, the government can implement some potential measures to reduce car ownership which has increased rapidly in the past 30 years.