In recent years many local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers to do their shopping. Is it a positive or negative development?

Recently, the issue of replacing from local shops to large shopping center in community has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that regional shops are damaged by large shopping centers, while others argue otherwise. Personally, although I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight, I a little more agree with the former stand. In the following essay, both views will be discussed alongside relevant examples before a conclusion with my opinion. On the one hand, citizens get the opportunity of choosing various products, when they go to shopping. For instance, there are a number of different companies’ products, even same products. Therefore, individuals can choose their alley among goods. Moreover, large shopping centers offer convenient facilities. Actually, in Korea, many large corporations’ shopping centers hold lessons such as learning English and creating accessary, leading to people’ participation. On the other hand, local shops struggle to compete with large companies. Because they can’t offer cheaper prices than large shops. As a result, residents don’t want to go to local shops. It leads to closing of local shops. Therefore, unemployment would increases in communities, leading to decreasing social economy. Another drawback is that social shops contribute to bond relationship between residents. Therefore, if local shops close, the community will face challenges. In conclusion, is is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering in a careful manner, each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above. Nevertheless, I more support that the effect of large shopping centers is too difficult to local shops.