Some argue that schools should prioritize life skills such as working in teams and solving problems instead of traditional academics. To what extent do you agree or

Nowadays, there is a debate about whether soft skills such as networking and problem-solving skillsskills must be taught at schools by replacing traditional classes or education system should remain unchanged. Although life skills might be important, I partially agree with this standpoint, since academic subjects are crucial for shaping a teenager’s identity. On the one hand, children tend to adapt and learn quickly, this is why abilities like communication and teamwork would be less challenging to teach them during school. However, teens may not be so obedient, their brains are more flexible and it is significantly easier for teens to acquire knowledge. For example, plenty of subjects related to public performance are being taught in European countries, it helps children become more confident in the future. Thus, it may be essential for schools to prioritize soft skills. On the other hand, default school subjects related to science, physical culture and foreign languages can be seen as boring and ineffective, while they are necessary for both mental and physical well-being. In addition, these subjects help to broaden student’s horizons. For example, standard classes provide historical, and cultural background and give a chance to identify future career paths from an early age. Therefore, it is better to leave the education system untouched since it is time-tested. In conclusion, although life skills like networking and teamwork can be beneficial to study at school, it would be more reliable and efficient to study with traditional academics.