Social media has become a powerful tool for communication, but some argue that it negatively affects social interactions and mental health. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In today’s era of non-stop technology evolution, social media has positioned itself as one of the major tools to interact with other, from sharing photographs to sending messages, it is continuously engaging young and old people. Even though the powerful advantages of it, some people assume that this kind of interaction could be detrimental to physical relationships and psychological health. From my point of view, I concur that both statements are rational in a way, as this modern communication style is a double-edged sword. In this essay, I will explain each viewpoint and my personal opinion. On the one hand, social media as a communication instrument serves to have closer relationship with friends and family. It has various services such as video calls, messages, voice calls, multimedia content sharing and the creation of communities that allow users to keep in touch with others. Not only do social sites offer these capabilities, but it also has the power to entertain, as these apps also include plenty of engaging multimedia content, such as videos, memes, posts, and imagery. In addition, it can be used for business purposes, since there are several apps such as Facebook and Instagram that provide advertisement functions to engage possible clients. On the other hand, these digital communities might interrupt real connections with closer ones,as using constantly these tools could mean dealing with an endless scrolling throughout entertaining content. This unpleasant habit is a medium to experience poor social interactions and psychological issues such as depression and anxiety. On this account, I partially agree with each statement since this instrument has both, advantages and disadvantages. For instance, based on my experience I can not work with these apps installed on my phone because I tend to start scrolling for many hours. Instead, I give myself permission to browse in these websites only on weekends in order to be more efficient. In conclusion, both insights are valuable but only by balancing the usage of social media in a correct way, we would take advantage of this contemporary instrument.