Both government investment in public transport systems and reductions in public transport ticket prices will help to reduce transport pollution greatly. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Our world faces environmental challenges due to the use of fossil fuels and automobiles for transportation. Some governments have started local initiatives such as investing in the building networks of public transportation and offering reduced fees to use these facilities. Both solutions will help greatly in reducing the harmful impact on the environment. In countries with heavy populations, a widespread public transport network which helps the residents transport more efficiently is highly appealing. They will be able to move faster from one point to another. Also, will reduce the stress associated with driving in peak hours and road rage which are both common behaviours in such circumstances. Moreover, The more a government invests in building modern facilities that combine comfort, safety and accessibility the more people will find it reasonable to use them on a regular basis instead of personal cars that use fossil fuel or electrical batteries which both are harmful to the environment. Another point that can encourage more people to reduce their personal mode of transport in favour of public buses or trains is to reduce the rates. Most governments provide either family packages, student discounts or support for low-wage earners which help the majority of the population. For example, In Saudia Arabia, an average school bus fee for one student costs around $300 per semester compared to a student card for public transportation for one month stands at $7. This noticed difference in cost and benefit will appeal to most families and students. In conclusion, having nationwide public transport which satisfies the needs of the residents at a reduced cost will greatly replace the use of personal cars which in consequence will reduce pollution significantly.