It is often tought that the increase in juvenile crime can be attributed to violence in the media. Do you agree that this is the main cause of juvenile crime? What solutions can you offer to deal with this issue?

It is widely acknowledged that an increase in illegal behaviors among young people can mainly stem from exposures to violent content on the media. I disagree with this notion and this essay will outline the potential reason behind this trend and propose viable solutions to this issue. First and foremost, one compelling argument supporting my stance is that poverty can contribute more to the rise of juvenile crimes than such content. This is because in Japan, which is well-known as a country with a rich culture of animation, ranging from romantic stories to violent ones, the number of juvenile crimes has decreased over the years, according to some reports. This means that it might be less meaningful to believe the connection between violent programs and the number of crimes, but rather, poverty can drive them to commit crimes. This is because nowadays, people have easy access to the Internet at any time, promoting them to compare with affluent individuals. As a result, such comparison may generate envy in their minds, leading to illegal actions among less affluent individuals. To address this issue, government should implement age restrictions on the Internet. This is because limited exposures to gorgeous lifestyles on social media can prevent young people in low-income families from committing crimes, leading to a decrease in their crime rates. Furthermore, nations strive to establish support centers, which are advantageous for not only poor young people but also society, since commuting to such centers may encourage interactions with adults, which creates a sense of community. Therefore, young individuals feel more connections with society. Consequently, the increased bonds with society encourage them to respect communities more, resulting in a reduction of illegal actions. In conclusion, in my opinion, while the primary cause of an increase in juvenile crimes is poverty and access to the Internet, as the access to social media can generate jealousy among impoverished young individuals, the imposition of age restriction and establishing support centres can contribute to a decrease in illegal conduct among the youth.