To meet the growing need for food to support an increasing population, a country should make use of edible insects as a food source. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but harvesting them will also negatively affect nature. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays some people assume nations should create programs for using edible insects as food, whereas, others argue taking them has negative effects on health and nature. I consider, eating bugs may be a great option for supporting the need for food. This essay will discuss the advantages and drawbacks of the problem mentioned above and my opinion. Firstly, considering insects as an option for meals may be a good route for helping the environment. Although the current deforestation in some places in the world is due to the necessity to supply the need for meat and vegetables, with the creation of new food sources the erosion may decrease. As well known, the Amazon in Colombia and Brazil has been affected by the growing of spaces for cows, however, in Cucuta a Colombian city, people have replaced cow's meat with ants called "Hormigas culonas", which is a rich resource of vitamins. Finally, eating ants has helped to the deforestation. On the other hand, eating "Hormigas culonas" could have disadvantages to health. Moreover, at the moment there is not much research about the effects on the body done by harvesting this kind of animal, hence, the knowledge is biased about this topic. For instance, respiratory diseases have grown in Cucuta, but the cause of this has not been found. According to the mentioned above, is necessary to increase academic research on this topic. To conclude, eating insects has benefits and drawbacks, such as, it is a good option for erosion, but there is not knowledge enough to know the effects on the body. In my opinion, the ministry should create new programs to increase academic research on eating this type of animal.