To meet the growing need for food to support an increasing population, a country should make use of edible insects as a food source. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but harvesting them will also negatively affect nature. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the contemporary era, the issue that as the population is increasing there is a need for food, edible insects are use as a source of food in the country. In my notion, it is a positive development that edible insects are used as an food source in many countries. Majority of society favours it, however the rest opposes it. In this essay, I will justify my opinion with some of the reasons. To commence with, the pros on using the food source as a edible insects. Firstly, the edible insects are cost-effective and efficient source of nutrition such as highly rich in protein, vitamins and minerals. Therefore, offering a viable solution to food scarcity. Secondly, this insects requiring few resources to grow and harvest as compared to traditional livestock. As a result, they are more convenient and easy to grow in the country. In addition, Insects have a much lower carbon footprint than livestock, as they produce less greenhouse gas emissions, require less land and consume fewer resources. This make them an environmentally sustainable for feeding an ever-growing population. To Begin with, the cons of insects is that despite their nutritional benefits, many people repulsed by the idea of consuming insects due to cultural or psychological barriers. To substantiate, it hinder their acceptance as a mainstream food source. Besides, this they concerns regarding the health safety of eating insects, including possible allergies and the presence of harmful pesticides or pollutants. Last but not the least, proper regulations and farming practices must be established to ensure the safety and hygiene of insect-based foods. To recapitulate, I reiterate that there are innumerable such factors supplying or opposing that as the population is increasing there is a need for food, edible insects are use as a source of food in the country which cannot be overlooked either.