In many countries household waste e.g. food packaging is increasing day by day. What are the reasons? How can this problem be solved?

Technological advancements have had a demonstrable effect on modern society, especially with regards to household waste. As the spread of the COVID-19 pandemic on a global scale has led more and more population turning to adopt technology as parts of their daily life to make their life more convenient, a bunch of household waste is generated during this new normal era caused by several human activities like online shopping and food delivery services, which this essay will explore in addition to possible solutions. An increasing amount of household waste has been caused by several reasons. Foremost among these is a rising amount of single-use plastic consumption in a food delivery service. A single food delivery order generates at least five pieces of solid waste including food packaging, beverage cups, straw, plastic cutlery, and seasoning packets, which are the major sources of household waste and pollution issues. Without considering these outcomes and consequences, careless residents incline not to wash these plastic products and reuse them, as they said that their quality was not good enough to use them another time. In addition, online shopping has contributed to a signicant portion of household waste in recent years. The main reason of this is a cheaper price of items compared to in-store products since sellers do not add extra cost of rental store when selling these products through an E-commerce platform. This, in turn, leads to more and more consumers purchase items via a digital platform, resulting in plastic waste involved at the delivery stage. However, there are clear solutions for this problem, should governments be willing to follow them. By allocating some amount of budget to educate citizens on how to separate different types of household waste, the better waste management practices are conducted, reducing both waste and pollution. For instance, both private and public companies can introduce this separated waste to the recycling program and produce more eco-friendly packaging, which is more useful than leaving this waste on a landfill. Another effective measure is that governments should raise taxes of plastic industry to encourage producers to find alternative approaches to produce sustainable packaging, such as edible and mushroom packaging. This additional money can be allocated to the development of research project on finding environmentally competitive materials replacing plastic. By doing these, less amount of household waste would be produced, which significantly reduce the consumption of non-biodegradable materials. In conclusion, although the myriad of causes lead to an increasing amount of household waste, this problem has clear solution, should government want to try them. In my opinion, if consumers continue to use plastic as parts of their daily life without considering the environmental impact, the repercussions on natural world will be long-lasting and disastrous.