There is an ongoing debate about whether the art and music classes should be taken as mandatory classes or not. I firmly disagree with the idea that art and music classes should not be compulsory.

Firstly, art and music classes can foster creativity of students. Test-oriented subjects such as science and mathematics tend to stop young students thinking in an active way and they just get used to memorizing everything. In contrast, when there are art classes at school, young children can build creativity skills by doing handcraft work. For instance, I have a memory that I had made an imaginal neighbor with my friends as a group assignment. It is interesting that now we are living in the world of autonomous driving, which we used to make in that class. Second, allowing art and music classes create opportunities for students to relieve stress. Moreover, listening to music such as classics and jazz alleviates the pressures they get from school. Focusing only on complicated subjects can cause hard tense for children. For example, if children take the class of music, students have a chance to prepare a chorus with a whole classmate. In addition, it might be not only a long-lasting memory but also good experience of building teamwork and feeling the sense of belonging. To sum up, it is true that there are supporters who believe children should concentrate on the subjects needed to pass the exam. Nevertheless, I strongly disagree that art and music classes should be optional due to creativity and relieving stress.