Some people want governments to spend money looking for life on other planets. Others, however, think this is a waste of public money when there are so many problems on earth. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

Some people think that governments should spend money to investigate the possibility of life on other planets, whereas others expect that public money should be spend to develop solutions to problems faced by the citizens. While space exploration allows us to discover the mysteries of our universe, I believe it is much more important to address the issues of our own world instead of being concerned about extra-terrestrial life. Space exploration expands our knowledge about the universe, giving us insight about our own origin and creation. For example, research carried out by NASA's ingenuity rover on Martian soil revealed that life on earth had arrived from Mars. Moreover, we can gain knowledge about the atmosphere and terrain of other planets, and possibly look for a suitable home outside this world. Additionally, researching on the soil of other planets and asteroids enables us to find mineral resources such as precious metals. For instance, using a satellite sent to a distant asteroid, scientists discovered that it was composed of Uranium- a rare metal on earth that is used to generate nuclear power. We can forsee developing technologies to bring back resources from space in order to enrich our resources on earth to advance the prosperity of humanity. However, space exploration requires a significant amount of investment by the government that could otherwise be used to mitigate various persisting problems on earth. Climate change is a grave threat to the existence of humanity, so instead of spending money to look for an alternate planet to live on, we should use it to prevent environmental degradation of our current home. Governments should develop strategies to reduce pollution and sufficient funds should be allocated to ensure the reduction of carbon dioxide emission. Furthermore, governments of wealthy and developed countries can subsidize funds to help poor countries to fight against problems such as poverty, famine, water scarcity and gender equity. For example, a recent study published in 'The Global Perspective' magazine reported that nearly ten million people across the world would have been relieved from poverty if the USA alone had donated only half the amount it spends on space exploration. In conclusion, although space exploration allows us to expand our horizons, enabling us to know deeper about our universe, governments should spend money to alleviate problems on earth in order to ensure an equitable, safe and prosperous future for every human being on this planet.