Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children.

There is no doubt that different schools adopt various styles to evaluate their students. There is a belief that homework should not be assigned to pupils, while others find it essential. This essay will discuss both perspectives before presenting my view. To begin with, homework is important to students as it helps them develop necessary skills, such as problem-solving skills and critical thinking. In other words, these abilities can prepare children for university, and enable them to tackle ious challenges in life, and the skills acquired through solving different problems in homework can help them overcome such difficulties. For example, a study conducted by Oxford University found that students who were given assignments that required analytical skills were better at solving real-life problems. On the other hand, some people argue that homework should not be assigned to students as it may place an excessive burden on them, especially those with part-time jobs. It is also possible to say that students already have multiple responsibilities, including school activities, coursework, and personal commitments, such as working in a store or café. Some parents also worry that excessive homework will lead their children to suffer from psychological issues, such as anxiety and stress. For instance, a BBC documentary in the UK revealed that school-related pressure on students had a detrimental impact on students ’ mental well-being. In conclusion, there is no definitive answer to whether homework should be given. However, I believe that students should receive different types of assignments to enhance their skills, while parents and teachers have to help maintain a healthy balance between academic and personal life.