Nowadays, many people have to work longer hours and they feel more stressed out than before. What are the reasons? What can employers do to make their life easier?

These days, workers are struggling with more anxiety due to the significant time people spend at work. This essay will first examine the reasons for this challenge and then explore some alternatives that could be taken by employers to alleviate such negative consequences. To begin with, there are tremendous reasons responsible for distressing long work time. The foremost reason is the skyrocketing price of housing, clothes, food and transportation; It is meanwhile salaries have not climbed at the same pace, forcing employees to sacrifice their rest and leisure time to compensate for life expenditures. This approach, therefore, would be accompanied by a lack of time to spend on leisure or relaxing activities such as attending a party or travelling, resulting in the release of cortisol, the stress hormone and other physical and mental illnesses, consequently. Moreover, the promotion of a lavish lifestyle has made many employees stay at work overtime in order to compete with peers on possessing luxury items like a brand car or a larger house. On the other hand, Employers could play a crucial role in alleviating this problem. Firstly, offering low-interest loans to employees in emergency situations such as a car accident or dangerous diseases makes them confident of economic support on the part of employers, increasing their peace of mind. Of course, this would impose an economic burden on the companies, however, taking this measure could increase efficiency, commitment and obligation to work in the long term. Secondly, practising the policy of one-week incentive leave for hard-working staff to go travelling or spend time with family members could help them get rid of the work stress, returning to work with more motivation and productivity. In conclusion, while prohibitively expensive costs and extravagant way of life have navigated humans’ professional lives towards a demanding journey, it could be relieved by financial support and implementing encouraging measures.