Some people think that the best way to succeed is to get a university education, while others disagree and say that it is no longer true nowadays. Discuss both views and give your own opinions.

The need for a university education to attain success is an ongoing debate. While there are some who think that this type of education is pivotal to one's greatness, there are opponents who feel it is not important in this century. This essay will elaborate on both perspectives and explain why I agree that there is a need for advanced education in achieving success. Advocates believe that there are two main benefits of attending a university. The most important is that it can boost one's credibility. A certain prestige is given to university graduates as it is believed that their certification proves their competency. For instance, companies would prefer to contract a mechanical engineer who has a graduate diploma than one who learnt on the job. Additionaly, university grounds are great places to network. These connections are beneficial to achieving greatness as they can be climbing stones to success. Nevertheless, opponents disagree that university is a must for two reasons. The first is that it can be a waste of resources in certain professions, as there are shorter and less expensive courses that explain important aspects. For example, in many nations, maternity nurses do not have to attend a university to succeed at their work. Due to this approach, many have experienced more childbirth complications making them more benefical to the doctors. In addition, there are certain jobs that one can learn without going to school. Jobs that involves practical skills such as fashion designing or hair making might require more of appenticeship apprenticeships than enrolling in universities. In conclusion, I think that both schools of thought have their merits. On balance, I feel that it is better to get a university degree because I think the benefits of credibility and networking in terms of success is more important than wasting resources or learning menial jobs.