Nowadays, many people are buying fewer new things and more second-hand goods. What are the possible reasons for this trend? Is this a positive or a negative development?

The fact that a vast majority of individuals are now purchasing used items more and brand-new items less indeed has a positive impact on our society. Raising costs and awareness are major reasons behind this change in preference, and at the same time now there is less burden on the environment as well, as only fewer things need to be disposed of. Both the reasons and their merits are explained in a further essay. Several causes can be put forth to justify this new trend in buying goods. The predominant reason is inflation. Due to soaring prices of goods, many cannot afford to pay for the full tag price of the item, so instead, they choose to buy an open box or a second-hand thing. A recent study published by the University of Toronto suggests that about 63% of residents are now buying items from an online marketplace rather than brand new from stores due to affordable prices. Moreover, there are also countless other benefits of this. The primary advantage is the less environmental impact. Because now people understand the environmental impact of buying new articles they have become vigilant when it comes to shopping. The Government of Canada recently published data where it indicated that the waste disposal of electronics has been reduced by more than 35%, as a result of citizen’s efforts to buy more second-hand stuff from the internet. To conclude, humans are now changing their shopping habits to buy used goods due to rising costs as well as awareness, and subsequently putting less burden on the environment. That’s why this is a one step forward in a sustainable future.