Scientists predict in the near future cars will be driven by computers, not people. Why? Do you think this is a negative or positive development?

In this day and age, artificial intelligence has been applied to several fields and is yielding positive results. Thus, scientists anticipate that in the near future, cars will be operated automatically via computers without human intervention. The following essay is going to explain the reasons behind this statement and state why this will have a positive impact on human lives. First and foremost, driverless vehicles are generally safer than the traditional way of driving. This is because artificial intelligence and computers can react in an instant, should any accidents happen on the streets, thus saving or minimizing the risk to the passengers’ lives. For example, many cars are equipped with auto brake features, which would prevent drivers from making reckless turns when there are several other vehicles on the streets. Moreover, automated cars could calculate the best possible routes based on traffic situations to take passengers to their destination. For instance, virtual assistance in cars nowadays could suggest a suitable route for drivers to avoid traffic jams. This development may yield several benefits to our society. To start with, self-driving vehicles can help people focus on other tasks while traveling. Instead of spending time driving to their workplace, people can focus on their tasks such as work or hobbies while virtual assistance operating the vehicles. Furthermore, even though driverless cars are not completely without risk, the number of accidents that involve this kind of transportation is still astronomically lower than that of human drivers. In conclusion, scientists’ anticipation of self-driving transportation stems from the benefits of artificial intelligence such as the speed of reaction and the ability to redirect to a better route. With this positive development, human can spend more time on their interests and can avoid accidents.