Music is played in every society and culture in the world today. Some people believe that music brings only benefits to individuals and societies. Others, however, think that music can have a negative influence on both. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Undoubtedly, music plays a crucial role in modern society. Some people are convinced that music is entirely beneficial to individuals and society, while others consider it harmful to some extent. As for my perspective, I am strongly in favor of the latter, and the reasons will be thoroughly elaborated on as follows. A myriad of factors might lead to why music seems positive to the world. First of all, music serves as a good channel for artists to deliver their personal emotions, which typically resonate with certain groups of listeners. For instance, when Kobe Byrant, my favorite basketball player in the NBA, passed away years ago due to an unexpected air crash, I was cured by listening to a sorrowful song called ‘See You Again’ by Charlie Puth. As a result, sometimes songs can give the audience comfort. In addition, recording historic events is also a vital function for music. To be more specific, we have better learn from previous experiences to avoid similar mistakes, like songs related to World War II reminding people of the consequences of greed and hate. On the other hand, music is accompanied by various drawbacks in my opinion. To begin with, a minority of songs contain improper content, including pornography or violent lyrics. This phenomenon might be harmful to youngsters, as they tend to learn everything they are exposed to. Furthermore, music can be distractive, making it challenging for people to stay focused on their studies or work. For instance, currently there is a hit called ‘APT’ by Bruno Mars and Rose, and it somehow keeps coming to my mind when I study in the library, decreasing my learning efficiency significantly. In conclusion, based on the aforementioned, I believe that music has shortcomings that might be detrimental to us, including involving bad content and threatening one’s concentration.