Some youngsters are taking a year off after finishing school. What are the benefits of it? Do the pros outweigh the cons? Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is trendy among the young generation to take a gap year after attending school. There are some benefits of it like earning some experience and money. Despite that, I don’t think that the advantages of it outweigh the disadvantages. I will discuss both views in my essay. On the one hand, taking a year off can be beneficial in terms of earning some money for future studies. There are lots of students who cannot afford to study in top universities. For this reason, they have to work at least a year to be financially supported. My cousin Shahzod is a good example of this situation. He wants to study abroad and he is working in a car wash centre to be able to pay for it. On the other hand, missing a whole year and working full-time may lead to a loss of the desire to study anymore. In reality, youngsters have a lot of energy and time so they can work the whole day in energy-consuming jobs and get paid frankly. However, having a good job and salary can cause of reduction in motivation for studying further. My friend Olim was one of the best students in our class and always wanted to get accepted into MIT. Actually, he has good programming skills and now working in a local company. He says he doesn’t want to go abroad anymore. In conclusion, I don’t agree with getting a year off though it is becoming more popular among youngsters recently. Some may earn money in this period, but it leads to a lack of motivation to study in the future.