Consumers are faced with increasing number of advertisements from competing companies. To what extent do you think are consumers influenced by advertisement ? what measure can be taken to protect them.

In this competetive era, the business models are heavily advertising their products, which has led to a boost in the amount of promotional advertisements seen by customers everywhere. Although these promotional marketing strategies bring substantial profits to the multinational companies, however they leave a negative impact on the consumers. Restriction of unnecessary advertisements and careful utilisation of internet could be an effective precautionary measure to protect the consumers. To begin with, the multinational companies are competing against their opponent businesses to sell their products and make profits. This makes it a compulsion for the big corporations to advertise their product in such a way that it reaches the right customer and increase their sales. However, the excessive amount of advertismenet advertisement that pop up on the consumer's mobile and laptop screen negatively impacts them into buying unneccesary products which they do not require, it leads to impulsive buying, making the customer spend more money than required on products that are of no use. Adding to that, the users are lured by the exciting discount offers given by the company and end up purchasing more the requried amount of goods. When they see people around them buying new items, they feel jealous and eventually want to spend their money on the same thing. To cite and example, in large grocery stores the heavy discounts on unhealthy snacks and drinks make more sales, as they are lucrative in eyes of the customer and they end up buying it in bulk quantity. A viable solution to this problem is that, the government should set a limit on the number of times an adverstisement can pop up the users screen and creating awareness among the users through awareness videos and campaigns. The prohibition of unnecessary advertisement can be proven an effective method to minimize the impulsive purchase made by the customer and getting them out of this loop. Additionally, creating awareness among people to use sustainable goods and re-use their old products can be another positive solution that can prevent them from getting influenced by the advertisements and buying unnecessary goods. For example, parents can restrict the usage of mobile phoens for children and inform them about the positive and negative impacts of the adverstiements they see. In conclusion, although the promotional ideas of the companies are to increase their annual profits, however it comes at the cost of negatively impacting the consumers. The consumers can get into a loop of impulsive buying, and especially young consumers can be really influenced by unneccesary advertisements. Hence, the adverstisements advertisement should be played in a limit and should be restricted after one time play.