Some people say cheap air travel is good because it enables ordinary people to travel ,while others argue that it is bad for the environment. Discuss both views ,and include your opinion.

Many people think travelling at a low cost in aeroplanes is great for the general public, whereas many believe that it is harmful to the environment. Cheap airline cost gives the opportunity for middle-class people to travel in aircraft and is a great marketing strategy for the airline company itself. However, it can increase the number of travels and can leave a negative impact on the habitat. To begin with, it is a dream for many low-income families to travel by aeroplane and cheap airline tickets can give them an opportunity to travel in their desired mode of transport. Generally, the high flight fares are a reason for people to avoid travelling by plane during the holiday season because they cannot afford it. Moreover, if average-income families are able to afford airline tickets, it can be a great promotional activity for the organisation to attract a large volume of customers. For example, Air India announced a sixty percent discount on its flight tickets in 2024 which led to a massive rush of bookings in a few hours. This also leads to overbooking of flight tickets. Furthermore, the overbooking of tickets and travel by aircraft can have a fatal impact on the environment. If there are more people who can afford to travel by air, there will be an increased demand for aeroplanes. Moreover, more resources such as fuel, food, high-voltage engines and batteries would be required to run an aircraft. The amount of money that would be used to run one aircraft can be used to run multiple trains and buses in a country, eventually increasing the cost for the government and the airline companies. It will eventually result in releasing more harmful gases in the air continuing to disturb the ecosystem. For instance, The Hindustan Times newspaper published a report in 2024 stating that aircraft are among the highest polluting modes of transportation. In conclusion, I believe that a limitation should be put on booking airline tickets because cheaper aeroplane tickets can be a good marketing strategy by airline companies, however, there is constant environmental degradation on the verge for the same reason.