Some say that parents whose children are breaking the law must be punished in some way. to what extent do you agree or disagree.

It is believed by some people that parents should be given some sort of punishment by the court if their children do not obey the laws. While this can be beneficial in some cases, I do not fully agree that this would be ideal for each case. It would rather be good if it depends on the types of cases or crime the child has committed. Firstly, if a parent is blamed for the behaviour their son or daughter has made, it can create a psychological effect on the child's mind, and they would take be more considerate of their actions. This is because in most of the cases, they would think ' If I committed a crime, not only me but my parents would also be punished', and it creates a sense of fear and that will create less crime rates. Secondly, the parents will always teach them, practically as well as emotionally on how to be a good citizen in order to make sure the family is not harmed by any means. On the other hand, it is not fair for the parents to be blamed because there have been many cases where the upbringing of the child has been great but due to other circumstances like drug abuse or wrong group of friends, they commit some serious crimes like murder or physical abuse, rapes. Sometimes, if a child is living abroad, the mom or dad does not even have a clue on what is going on in their child's life. So, it is crucial to consider different factors like the severity of the crime they committed. I personally do not think it is good to punish the parent because it is an individual's responsibility on how they take their actions. In case of juvenile crime, we already have good laws to protect them while making sure to provide justice to the victims as well. To conclude, their are pros and cons of providing punsihments punishment to a child's parent, but it would be best if we do not do it, as it might not be fair for every parent to be blamed for their child's action.