Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Gia Linh.

In recent years, there has been a debate over the most effective ways to reduce crime. While some individuals admit that putting people in jail for an extended time is the best solution, others believe that alternative methods should be considered. The two aforementioned views will be discussed thoroughly before presenting my personal perspective in the conclusion. On the one hand, giving longer prison sentences to criminals could work wonders in the battle against crime. Firstly, this method would act as a deterrent since it may discourage dwellers from breaking the law. Knowing they would serve a long prison sentence, those who have the idea of committing a crime would think carefully and realize that it would not be worth the risk. Furthermore, a longer time in jail may help rehabilitate offenders. This is because they have more time to think about what they have done and feel guilty for their wrong behaviour. Therefore, when being released, they would be afraid of engaging in activities that could lead to criminality. On the other hand, other alternatives are also essential to reducing the crime rate. The first measure is for authorities to hold more seminars that educate citizens on legal knowledge. These programs would help residents realize how risky breaking the law is and could raise people’s awareness. Another good step is for the government to install more cameras and have more policemen patrolling the streets. This could prevent petty criminals like shoplifters and pickpockets, as they are less likely to operate when being watched. Lastly, ensuring that the prisoners who are released have stable jobs when they are free is a great prevention plan. When they are able to support themselves and their family, they have no reason to turn back to crime. In conclusion, although letting people serve long prison sentences can be a great contributor to preventing crime, I am of the opinion that other effective measures also need to be executed simultaneously.