Air transport is increasingly used to export fruit and vegetables to countries where they cannot be grown or are out of season. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

With the rise of air transport, many countries enjoy fruit and vegetable they used to not get in the past. I will explore the multifaceted nature of this trend, emphasizing the belief that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. One of the significant advantages is improvement of people's health. Fruits and vegetables are rich in a wide range of vitamins and minerals that do not exist in other types of food. For example, people in remote islands used to not receive these types of food as cargo ships are not suitable to carry fresh fruits and vegetables. However, they now enjoy vitamin-rich bananas and pineapple imported from neighboring countries. The World Health Organization's recen report revealed that the residents of Fiji island located in the middle of the Pacific Ocean wildly reduced the percentage of malnutrition to approximately half during the past three decades due to the advent of the international air trade. Furthermore, the country can boost economy through extra export opportunities. The international export usually bringds bring a good amount of money. New businesses helped many agricultural countries transition to business-oriented countries. For example, Tanzania in African continent started exporting frozen avocado and mango to China and gradually improved the tax revenue of the agriculture sector. However, alongside these advantages, air transport of fruits and vegetables face challenges. One notable downside is air pollution. Airplanes cause more greenhouse gas emission and lead to global warming. The article of the United Nations Environment Program indicates that the amount of carbon dioxide produced by airplanes are more than double of the cargo ships. To sum up, air transport of fruits and vegetable brings both advantages and disadvantages. Despite the challenge of air pollution, the advantages of health improvement and economic growth are paramount. It is imperative to recognize that these benefits extend far beyond the drawbacks.