Some people believe that children of all ages should have extra responsibilities. Other believe that, outside of school, children should be free to enjoy life. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While many parents agree with this statement, there are individuals that feel kids should be given the freedom to be free to play and enjoy their childhood. I fully agree with the latter. On the one hand, by contributing in the house children learn specific values and instill selfworth self worth and pride in a child. Young children need order and by making them pick up toys or making the bed sets boundries and makes them feel safe and more dicsiplined in life. For instance, a child that is rewarded after doing chores will feel they accomplished something and will want to improve rather than play video games all day. For example, if parents involve their children in daily activities like making food together or teaching them how to do laundry they feel more accomplished and have pride in their homes. However, children that have school and hobbies do not always have the time for chores and they would be overwhelmed with the workload. On the other hand, scholars are under tremendous pressure with school nowadays. Youngsters have an eight-hour academic day thereafter, have homework and studies to focus on. In addition, sporting activities take up a lot of the child's time and can be demanding on learners. For instance, in South Africa scholars have sport in school that is highly popular. For example rugby is big in schools and learners take sport very seriously, they put in long hours practicing and playing against other teams. Therefore, addisional chores at home would be overwelming to some children. In conclusion, it is not suggested that learners do not help out at home and have their parents do eveything for them. However as adults it is our responsibility to ensure children have time to grow and flourish in their own way through giving them time to engage in sport and have time to focus on what their hobbies are.