Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, a number of youngsters spend long hours on their smartphones on a daily basis. In my opinion, the insufficient number of recreational centres in some countries and social media apps are the main reasons for this dependency. I am also convinced that there are various drawbacks associated with the widespread use of smartphones. It is my view that, in developing countries, the young generation does not have access to suitable recreational centres to spend their time. In other words, the inadequate number of such facilities and also high entrance fees encourage children to stay at home and use their phones. For example, in Iran, many parents are unable to cover their children’s expenses monthly. Therefore, they prefer to buy smartphones for their children to entertain them. Furthermore, social media platforms encourage youngsters to stay online for the most part of the day. These eye-catching applications and their diversity can draw children’s attention easily. I further believe that being too reliant on smartphones may lead to health problems. These days, many youngsters have a sedentary lifestyle. As a result, they are more likely to gain weight and become obese in the long run. They are reluctant to go to the gym and do exercise, and in turn, they are prone to different diseases. Additionally, devoting too many hours to using social media platforms such as Instagram may develop a sense of inadequacy. Children fail to distinguish the difference between reality and unreality in some cases. Consequently, some of them are likely to suffer from depression. In conclusion, youngsters are drawn to their smartphones due to the lack of recreational centres and the attractive appearance of social media apps. From my perspective, living a sedentary lifestyle and becoming depressed are the main disadvantages of using smartphones extensively.