Memorising facts is the most important way to succeed in education. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In order to score excellent marks in examinations, people tend to memorize facts and figures. Many people argue that this form of learning is not suitable for holistic learning, as in-depth understanding of the subjects is indispensable to excelling in life. In this essay, I will explain why I fully disagree with this statement and outline the reasons behind my belief. First and foremost, memorizing facts and study materials will not help in acquiring practical knowledge about the subject. In many fields, people should not only have theoretical knowledge but also practical knowledge to excel in their lives. For example, in schools, a significant number of students who score good marks do not necessarily do better in their lives; it was observed that most of those who perform well in examinations usually mug up the notes. Those students who developed an intrinsic understanding of the subjects were often more successful in their careers later, as they have a comprehensive understanding that helps them to think differently. Furthermore, there are subjects that require students to memorize facts and figures, but that is also used to conclude something from those facts. Take, for example, the subject of history. In history, students have to remember a significant number of dates, historical events, and famous personalities. However, the ultimate purpose of this subject is not to remember the dates and events but to figure out the pivotal aspects from the past that would help our current generations to make the world a beautiful place to live and not to repeat the mistakes made in the past. Thus, memorising the content will restrict the students ' horizons. In conclusion, while I acknowledge the importance of learning through memorization, I strongly believe that a well-rounded, comprehensive study of the subject, including practical knowledge, is more important for the students ' future prosperity.