In many societies, there is a growing emphasis on sustainable living and reducing environmental impact. What are the challenges of adopting a sustainable lifestyle? What practical actions can individuals take to contribute to sustainability? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the modern technologycal world, more and more people are trying to reduce the carbon footprints in the environment by adopting sustainable living. While there are some major issues that humans need to combat before acheiving the net-zero carbon emission goal, but there are many steps available that can be taken by individuals help us achieve it sooner. Both of these are elaborated in the further essay. Several hurdles need to be overcome before human beings are capable for living sustainable life. The predominant challenge is its upfront cost. Many products that are eco-friendly and are currently available in the market are priced at higher cost. Therefore, to get to the break-even point, it takes several years to recover initially invested resources. The solar panels are the perfect example of this. Solar panel experts suggest that it takes about eight to ten years to cover the cost of these panels before using free electricity. But perhaps, people should be also looking at other ways which are more practical and can be implemented immediately. The primary action is using more environmental friendly products that are easy to dispose and can last much longer. By using objects that could be functional for years, the need to buy new ones sooner can be eleminated. A simple example for this is plastic bags. Switching to multiple use bags that are made from recycled material will reduce the disposal of several metric tons of plastic in the environment every year. To conclude, the mantra “reduce-reuse-recycle” is changing the world for better. Although its primary cost is high, but there are some solutions available that can be adopted by individuals to live a sustainable life.