More and more business meetings are taking place online. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

In this contemporary world, technological advancement has been drastically rising and it eliminates the need of in-person meetings. Today, most of the business meetings are conducted in online since many people believes it is convenient. In this essay, I will discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of online meeting in detail. On the one hand, development in instantaneous communications such as Instagram and Facebook makes our lives easier especially for business persons. Today, people can conduct a business meeting or propose a business idea to the investors who are sitting in other side of the world with the help of online platforms. Moreover, it can reduce the cost of travel and time. For example, The U.K and India trade summit was held online with both country's presidents and it was a successful meeting since it generated 30 billion dollars. Furthermore, attending a meeting in one's own place through online can reduce the anxiety and restlessness since most people are overwhelmed in offline group discussion. On the other hand, technologies cannot be trusted in important business meetings because unfortunate events such as poor connectivity of internet and disturbances from family members can negatively impact the discussion. For instance, Any glitches in communication application can entirely affect the company's meeting and lead to dissappointment with the board members. Furthermore, virtual and voice call meetings can be hacked and it can hinder company's performance from competitors. An example for that is a hacker from China hacked the details from Indian Defence Minister meeting with officials and sold in Black Market. So, important discussions should be avoided in online. In conclusion, even though online and virtual meetings can significantly reduce the time and effort it also poses threats such as information leakage through hacking. Moreover, poor internet connectivity and disturbances from the environment can hinder the online meeting goal. So, people should conduct important meetings in offline rather than online.