Some people think that success is the best measure for intelligence, while others think that intelligence can be measured in other ways. What’s your opinion?

Whether or not success is the best measure of intelligence is a highly controversial issue. Many people opine that the amount of progress being made will show how clever a person is while others hold opposing views. This essay will look into both perspectives before coming to a conclusion. On one side of the argument, clever pupils usually demonstrate hard work, teamwork and effective problem-solving skills, allowing them to thrive in the work environment and become successful. For example, many years ago, the Kodak camera was invented. During that time, it was used worldwide because it was the first small camera available for usage by the public. The founder was innovative and smart so he was able to create this camera that once dominated the entire market. This just shows that being clever leads to accomplishments. On the other hand, others may be successful due to wealth, connections or just pure luck. Many of the popular influencers have only basic education and credentials but are successful due to their connections and marketing. For example, One Direction, a band that consists of five members became popular in 2010 after being chosen on the X-Factor Talent Show. This was due to publicity by Simon Cowell, rather than their intellectual mind. Moreover, nowadays, TikTok influencers are trending due to their self-promotion and creative content that is posted online. This shows that recognition is influenced by different factors. Besides that, different cultures have varied definitions of intellectual capacity, which might include social skills, adaptability, and community contributions, rather than just measurable progress. Some of the non-profit organisations are not viewed as flourishing because their main aim is not profit. Even though profit maximisation is not their objective, they should still be considered successful because of their contributions to the community. In conclusion, I strongly believe that intelligence should be assessed through various lenses rather than a single measure like success. Although success is a contributing factor to proving brilliance, it is not the only factor. There are many different types of intelligence and various factors that prove it. Creative and socially sensitive individuals are usually emotionally intelligent, with a high EQ while hardworking and serious people have a high IQ.